top of page
  • Michael Dattolico

Wonders of the Ancient World Part One

Architecture has always been a bridge between art and civilization. From the craftsmanship that goes into design and construction of a structure utilized by the people of the area and no architecture has captivated people as much as the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. In this first part we will begin to cover why they're called the Seven Wonders and begin the first part of their history!

It was in the Renaissance period when the official title of the Seven Wonders began. The structures were known to be popular among those visiting the Greek area around the 4th century BCE. During these times because of Greek conquest, many travelers had access to Egypt, Persia, and Babylon making the wonders scattered in this broad region. The Seven wonders include: The Great Pyramid of Giza, the Statue of Zeus, the Temple of Artemis, the Colossus of Rhodes, the Mausoleum at Halicarnassus, the Hanging Gardens of Babylon, and the Lighthouse of Alexandria.

The Great Pyramid of Giza- the oldest wonder and the only one that still stands today, this pyramid was built around 2560 BCE and served as the tomb for Pharaoh Khufu. This structure is massive by any standards and especially by ancient standards, measuring 147 meters or 482 feet tall.

We hope you found this information about the seven wonders interesting! At AJS, we are committed to serving the Gulf Coast and beyond in moving, building, and leveling and we are here to help you and your properties. For lifting, construction, or moving, give us a call today to schedule a free consultation!

174 views0 comments


bottom of page